THE HISTORY OF THE TOUR OF PEMBROKESHIRE
The Tour of Pembrokeshire was launched by a group of avid cyclists who felt that the beautiful county in which they lived deserved an event that would attract riders from all over the country and beyond to come and pit themselves against the challenging climbs and experience the raw beauty of the area.
The Tour has grown year after year, initially attracting around 400 riders a year, to what is now over 1500.
The Tour initially was based at Folly Farm near Narberth, and then was moved to the Regency Hall in Saundersfoot, just down the road. In 2012 the decision was made to move the home of the Tour to St Davids. The new route showcased more of the north of the county, and provided its riders with spectacular coastal and mountainous scenery. The Tour has grown year after year, initially attracting around 400 riders a year, to what is now over 1500. The Tour has received high praise from both its riders and well known publications such as Cycling Plus and Cyclist magazine. Tori James is the Patron of the Tour, and the website now gets over 50,000 hits a year.